The Curtis Brown Writing Course

I ‘met’ the other lovely, talented writers on this website on the online Curtis Brown Creative Writing for Children Course.  I dithered over shelling out the £££s and applied on a whim 1 week before the closing date.  I’m so glad I did, I’ve never looked back.

I had already completed a Writer’s Bureau Course for short story and novel writing some years ago and secured an agent.  But I didn’t do English at uni, or journalism, (psychology actually) and I’d never rubbed shoulders with other writers.  I felt like I needed to learn more, to connect with people, but I didn’t know how, until I came across the Curtis Brown Course.

Being accepted was a great sense of validation, that my writing was worth of the Great Curtis Brown wanting to teach me more.  But I fretted over if I would be the weak link in the group.  Was my writing good enough?  Would the others have an arm-length of degrees and accreditations?

One of the best parts of the course was learning to critique each other’s work.  I panicked about this to begin with; I’ve never critiqued anything, not even left a book review on Amazon (that’s subsequently changed – my fellow authors need all the love they can get).  And receiving my first load of feedback was panic-attack inducing.  But everyone was kind.  Honest, but kind.  When the whole group pick up on the same thing in your work you know that’s the bit you need to re-examine.   And then we created a Facebook group.  So we could support each other and talk about stuff that might bore our course tutors!  I haven’t yet met any of my writing friends in the flesh, but they are some of my best friends.

If you are at all contemplating the course, I say go for it if you can. If you think it’s too much money, or are worried about ‘getting in,’ you can always try their cheaper online course to get you started entitled Starting to Write Your Novel, which is open to everyone.  Everyone’s got a book inside them….what are you waiting for?

If you have any questions or want to message me, feel free to visit the comments section and leave a few words behind.

Marisa Noelle

Leave a Reply

