Sleep

To sleep, peace, please…

The bright full moon filters through my window

Casting dancing images on my eyelids like flames on a dark night.

Birds argue as if it were day.

I dream of the ocean, calm, hypnotic,

Waves to wash over me and cleanse my unruly restlessness.

I cannot settle.

Images of consciousness flitter though my mind.

My brow furrows, trying to solve the problems of my world.

I cannot find comfort in the twisted covers.

Darkness is not my friend.

The black shadows, the creaking noises.

My mind is alert.

It is when the sun meets the moon that I feel the edge of sleep.

Slipping, slipping into the calm ocean of peace,

I let go.

Sleep washes over me,

Until the moon crests again.

Leave a Reply

