Notes from a trying-to-be-published author…

I’ve never written a blog before…here goes…

So, us authors on this page met on a virtual writing course at Curtis Brown. We had a blast, and the most surprising thing for me was making lifelong friends who I haven’t yet met in the flesh, but who support each other, in not just our writing, but our lives as well. We are a lucky bunch.

I’m one of the fortunate ones who has an agent and has books out on submission with publishers. But I was pondering…how long does it all take? I’ll let you know when I get that ‘yes, please!’ But seriously, every aspiring writer wants to know when. How long is a piece of string? I’ve been with my agent for two and a half years.   Seems like a long time with no deal yet made, BUT, she took a chance on me, a newbie writer, picked from the slush pile, who knew nothing about the industry of what the hell a query letter was. I’ve since realised my writing needed maturing. Thank you Curtis Brown. And now, I’m ready. So check back here and watch this space and I’ll keep you updated on what’s happening.

Marisa Noelle

Leave a Reply

